"I invited him [Gauzere] to come to the presser [news conference] but he didn't want to", Cheika said.
"I don't know if that happens in rugby but".
Folau was sin-binned in the 31st minute on Saturday for unnecessary contact with Peter O'Mahony during an aerial challenge that resulted in the Ireland captain being concussed after crashing into the Allianz Stadium turf.
After spending a considerable amount of time reviewing the footage, Skeen ruled that a deliberate attempt had not been made and that the play would go back to the ensuing line-out, which, given that time had expired, gave Ireland the victory and a vital series win.
Cheika was asked if World Rugby needed to further clarify rules around such aerial challenges in light of French fullback Benjamin Fall being sent off by Australian referee Angus Gardner last week against New Zealand only for the red card to be retrospectively cancelled by the governing body.
"The key word these days is "clear" and "obvious", isn't it? It's a lot of grey and it's about the interpretations in the grey so, yeah, I don't know how they can clarify it, so there's not much point in me asking about clarification".
"Look at Angus last week". Took away the red card, basically said "you made the wrong call". I'll say something and you'll say it's a biased view.
"Rugby, there's no black and white in this game".
The Sydney Morning Herald reported Cheika felt Australia was hard done by particularly after reserve Australian hooker Tolu Latu was nabbed for not releasing the ball after a carry.
Cheika and match officials have been swapping video during the series to untangle issues and in particular tackling off the ball. I'm sure Ireland will have another side of the story. "I'll just keep it to myself".